Simple Guidance For You In What Is Sharia Law In America

Life of Muslim is disciplined by some systems of Islam. In the system this is called Sharia law. It is mainly moral codes for Muslim Ummah. Here I will focus on what is Sharia law in America.

In foreign country especially in non Muslim country this law is called foreign law. There were some recent changes in the law system of America. Like in North Carolina lawmakers has approved bills regarding foreign laws.

Now you may think why sharia law is so bothering?

what is sharia law in americaa

Well, many Americans think Islamic law has some unnecessary and intolerable punishments. Some thinks Muslims are trying to impose this law in American law. And the Muslim Americans think this situation has been aroused for not knowing about these Islamic rules properly and having misconception about the punishments.

So let’s talk about Sharia law.

At first what is Shariah?

Shariah word is mainly an Arabic word. It means a way to follow. This meaning has a broad meaning in both personal morality and religious life.

Shariah is mainly followed on two sources. One source is The Quran and other source is the Sunnah. The Quran is the exact word of Allah (swt) and the Sunnah is the doing and sayings of beloved prophet Hazrat Muhammad (PBUH) as he was the last prophet among the all prophets.

To make clear of all moral codes and orders of Allah (swt) and the prophet Hazrat Muhammad (PBUH) the explanation is called “fiqh”. This can be changed in by following the rules given by Allah. Some Muslims deny it.

So in short, Shariah is the orders of Allah and Prophet Muhammad (swt).

Next question can be arising that what Shariah contains.

Let’s take a look: 

Shariah mainly covers on the daily life of a Muslim. A Muslim has three ways to follow Shariah. They are- faith, character and activities.

The “faith” is believing in Allah (swt), the angels, the prophets, life after death. A Muslim believes these without any doubts.

A Muslim must have modesty and humanity in their character. There should be no place for lie and pride.

And lastly the activity of a Muslim is following Allah (swt) orders like fasting; praying, performing Hajj, work without any lie or crime and many more.

But sadly many Muslims of the world has made these three ways corrupted by exaggerate and misconception.

You may ask who is proper to make change in Shariah.

For this, one has to be the Islamic scholar who has deep knowledge in The Quran and Sunnah and also popular among all Muslim world.

The changes can be made with new opinions and fatwas which is religious orders. This should be done with many researches and knowledge. But sometimes this change gets debated and wrongly applied.

To make the changes understandable the Muslim countries make five categories like-

  • Must; 
  • Optional; 
  • Neutral;
  • Not supporting;
  • Absolutely forbidden;

These help Muslim to follow easily. In European law some sharia law is accepted as civil law.

Where sharia law is practiced?

Sharia law is mainly practiced in Muslim countries. Professor Jan Michael Otto who is from NetherlandsLeiden University Law School has categorized Shariah law system in three systems-

  • Classical; 
  • Secular; 
  • Mixed; 

1. Classical Shariah law:

Countries -Egypt, Sudan, Mauritania, Afghanistan, Iraq, Iran, the Maldives, Qatar, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, Yemen, Indonesia, Nigeria, Malaysia, and the United Arab Emirates follows classical Shariah law.

This law has all power to operate in family and criminal law. In this practice the law is quiet harsh on giving punishments to non prayers, violation and apostasy.

2. Mixed Shariah law:

Countries: Algeria, Djibouti, Comoros, Gambia, Libya, Somalia, Morocco, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Gaza Strip, Brunei, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Malaysia, Syria and Oman follow this law.

This law system is popular for Muslim majorities. In this system Sharaih is only followed in family law and all other laws are followed by secularism.

3. Secular:

This law system doesn’t follow any Shariah law. Though these countries are Muslim-majority countries but they have no Muslim law. Countries are - Burkina Faso, Guinea, Chad, Guinea-Bissau, Uzbekistan, Mali, Niger, Senegal, Tunisia, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Albania, Kosovo, Turkey.

Eritrea, Ghana, Ethiopia, Tanzania, Singapore, Kenya, Uganda, India, Israel, Sri Lanka, the United Kingdomand Thailand have Islamic family law courts for their Muslim population.

Shariah law in America:

sharia law in usa

Shariah law has no effect on American law. It is just like a system law unlike Christian and Jewish. Shariah law is considered as a foreign law in many regions of America.

Though some are arguing this law is actually Shariah law. But it is not true.

Some have misconception that Shariah law just gives punishment for no reason. So there are many differences have been occurred between Muslims and non Muslims.

Some are protesting as they want ban on Shariah law as they misconception about this law.With the rise in major Islamic terrorism and anti-Muslim racism, Sharia law has become a topic of discussion.

Click Here to Leave a Comment Below 0 comments

Leave a Reply: